On saving for retirement.

S: I’m trying to decide if I should do a 401(k). Do you?

C: You should definitely do it. It’s not taxed, and it’s the greatest way to save money.

S: Yeah, but I can’t touch it ’til I’m 55. So basically I have to be okay with saving money that I can’t have for a long time.

C: Yeah, but don’t you want to?? You will be able to have a bad ass retirement. I would do it.

S: I’m pretty sure I’m not going to live long enough to retire.

C: Um, are you kidding?

S: Nope. I think I’m going to die young. Before I have babies, even.

C: Alright, listen to me: at least pretend to save so that they don’t take a picture of you and say, “it would only cost a $1 to feed this senior citizen.”

S: But if I’m gonna die young, I want to spend all the money I can while I’m still alive. Fuck waiting until I’m 55.

C: 55 isn’t old.

S: I didn’t say it was!

2 Responses

  1. (Not to be nerdy, but you can get it out if you need it before you’re 55. You just have to pay the taxes on it. Just so you know.)

  2. OMG. S, you sound just like my husband!

Leave a Reply

